top of page
Search

When and Why I started Photography?

July 8th, 2021

(Photo from when I used my camera day 1 on my lunch break at work)


Why and When I Started

After tagging along behind the scenes of a few different photoshoots; I enjoyed the beauty of watching people get all dressed up, feeling themselves, bringing good vibes and unleashing their authentic personalities during the photo sessions. On May 27th, 2020, I was scrolling on Facebook marketplace and came across a Nikon D3000 with 2 kit lenses, the CD's and the users manual. It was listed at $200 and I was able to finagle my way down to $150. Once I was able to lock in such a great deal it was a no brainer; SOLD!

Now, I had a new gadget to learn how to operate and find a way to make good use of the investment. I had no idea where to start or what to even take pictures of. That's when I decided to throw myself right out there, offering complimentary photo sessions for practice. I started posting pictures of my work and as the word got around I had gotten such good feedback and a message from the Minnesota Jays Youth Football Team requesting for me to travel from Omaha to Minneapolis to get pictures of the team. Being the fearless person I am, I agreed to do it. But they needed them quick so, I had 48 hours to hurry and find a photo lab for prints, put together packages based on individual item from the photo lab's website, make an order form, figure out travel expenses and figure out a date that fit into my schedule. My anxiety was through the roof. I met the deadline and was able to make it happen.

Following the session, once I finally received the prints in the mail and seen the photos that I had personally taken and edited on different photo items like buttons, magnets, game tickets, trading cards and etc. it was just amazing to me, it sort of blew my mind. After delivering the photos to the parents and hearing their feedback on how much they loved them and wanted to buy additional items/prints. It was such an unbeatable feeling and boosted my confidence so much, definitely the spark I needed to kick off my photography career. One thing I love to remind myself and those around me is to enjoy the moments you live in, because they don't last foreverI Troyana Mikhael Thompson, will provide an unforgettable experience by capturing moments that tell your life story and create memories for you to cherish forever.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page